Thursday, November 25, 2010

The Waiting: Book Review

About The Book:

She was waiting for love--and found it in the most unexpected place.

Jorie King's life is on hold. She has been waiting for Ben Zook to return to Lancaster County. Waiting for him to settle down and join the church. Waiting to marry him.

But when news arrives that Ben has been killed, Jorie is devastated. She finds unlikely comfort in the friendship of his brother Caleb. Friendship ripens into love, and two broken hearts plan for a life filled with the promise of a fresh beginning--until their worlds are turned upside down.

With her realistic characters whose weaknesses develop into strengthes, Suzanne Woods Fisher offers a reading experience that rises above the others. You will love growing in spirit with these complex people living the simple life as The Waiting transports you into a world where things aren't as simple as they seem.

About The Author:

Suzanne Woods Fisher is the CBA bestselling author of The ChoiceThe WaitingAmish Peace, and Amish Proverbs. Her interest in the Anabaptist cultures can be directly traced to her grandfather, W. D. Benedict, who was raised in the Old Order German Baptist Brethren Church in Franklin County, Pennsylvania. Benedict eventually became publisher of Christianity Today magazine. Suzanne is the host of a radio show called Amish Wisdom and her work has appeared in many magazines. She lives in California.

My Review:

I love Amish Fiction. There is something so intriguing about the Amish lifestyle, and I love learning about it, even through fictional accounts. I have actually loved that many of the authors of Amish Fiction are from Amish backgrounds, so even though what they write is fiction, there is a lot of "real life" within the novels. This is the case with author Suzanne Woods Fisher, whose grandfather grew up in an Old Order Church in Pennsylvania. 

The Waiting by Suzanne Woods Fisher is the sequel to The Choice, both part of the Lancaster Country Secrets series. It is very well written and easy to read and will appeal to all Amish Fiction fans. There is even a readers guide at the back to go through individually or in a group setting. A great addition indeed. 

While we are re-aquainted with characters from The Choice, we are also introduced to new characters, and I hope to see what develops in these characters lives in the rest of this series. You get a real insight into how the Amish deal with different life experiences, like death.

The third book, The Search is set to release in January 2011 and I cannot wait to read it. According to Fisher's website, it looks like there are four new books coming out in the next 2 years, and I for one could not be happier. Fisher's simple, yet intriguing writing style has made me an instant fan. I look forward to reading more from this author.

If you have read The Choice, if you are a fan of Suzanne Woods Fisher, or Amish Fiction in general, or have someone on your Christmas list who is, you need to read The Waiting.

I highly recommend this novel and give it a huge thumbs up!

BUY IT: The Waiting by Suzanne Woods Fisher is available through your local Christian bookseller, from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group

****I received a complimentary copy of this book, courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc

No comments:

Post a Comment