Wednesday, April 17, 2013

Though Mountains Fall: A Book Review

About The Book:

Inspired by Actual Events!
"I want you to promise you will always be my sister."
There were tears in Miriam’s eyes as their foreheads touched and Rachel whispered, "No matter what. Always."
Now in its fourth year, the Amish settlement in Mexico is thriving. But as new settlers arrive, sons and daughters marry, babies are born, and crops grow thick, a storm looms on the horizon. And Caleb Bender knows--perhaps better than anyone--that the worst of storms don't come from the western skies.
They come on horseback.
When their very existence is threatened, the Amish turn to the Mexican government for help, only to discover that the rulers of men are fickle and security is an illusion. Tried by fire and riven by war, Caleb and Domingo come to understand that the kingdom of God is not to be found in land or buildings or gold or armies, but in the hearts of peaceful men trying to feed their families.
Watching helplessly as daughters Rachel, Miriam, and Emma are drawn inexorably toward their separate destinies, Caleb is forced to confront the most important decision of his life.
About The Author:
Dale Cramer is the author of the bestselling and critically acclaimed novel Levi's Will, based on the story of Dale's father, a runaway Amishman. Dale's latest series, THE DAUGHTERS OF CALEB BENDER, is based on an Amish colony in the mountains of Mexico where three generations of his family lived in the 1920s. He currently lives in Georgia with his wife of 36 years, two sons and a Bernese Mountain Dog named Rupert. Visit him on his Web site at

My Review:
A couple years ago, I had read the book, Levi's Will and was quite taken in with the talent of writing found in Dale Cramer. I was so impressed that when his series, The Daughters of Caleb Bender, was available to review last year, I jumped at the chance. I was not disappointed and now I get to share my thoughts about the third book in the series, Though Mountains Fall.
First things first this is not your typical Amish fiction novel, as neither were the other two books in this series. As the finale of the series, the book was fantastic! With many twists, turns, romance, family, redemption, forgiveness and the impact of choices made as main themes, Cramer DID NOT disappoint.The storylines flow nicely, with each character being developed even more so than in the first two books. While many book series on the market can often be read as stand alone novels, this is not the case with this series. It will definitely be a benefit to have read the first two books so you can understand the dynamics between characters and the various story lines. I also loved that this series was based on true history of the author's family. 
Be forewarned you will shed tears and stay up late into the night reading this book! But that is a good thing! 
While I am disappointed that Though Mountains Fall is the conclusion of this series, I am looking forward to what comes next for the author. He is on my favorite author list, along with authors like Dan Walsh and Nicholas Sparks! It is an uncommon thing to see male authors writing Amish or Romantic fiction and Cramer does it well. If you haven't read any of Dale Cramer's works you need to and if you are already a fan of his, this will only keep you as one!
I highly recommend this book and give it a huge thumbs up!
BUY IT: You can purchase Though Mountains Fall at your favorite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
***I received a complimentary copy of this book, courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications Inc., for the purpose of review on this blog. All opinions expressed are my own, and I have not been compensated in any other manner***

No comments:

Post a Comment